Where In The World Is ‘Ruth’s Chickens’?

I’m still here!

I just haven’t been into writing lately, life gets busy as I’m sure everyone knows.

  It seems summer got of to a slow start and then there were the ‘Bunny Wars’ but then things got busy and continued so thru the fall.

Then of course the holidays came upon us with all the busy-ness of the season!

TREE2015

Winter is a good time to catch your breath, slow down and relax.

http://giphy.com/gifs/dog-lucky-GXmXd0d9W5IMo

Check out this link ^^^^^^^^ to see how I’d like to be feeling about now.

Here is a recap of our 2015:

 Throughout the summer my 2 and a half year olds did not slow down one bit on laying I’m happy to say, with the exception of Martha.  I go months without seeing a blue egg, but then she always was a sporadic layer. Is it an Ameracauna thing?   My friend Tric has a flock of mostly Ameracunas. During the summer I sometimes got more eggs a day from my flock of 9 than she did from over 30!  I wont be adding any more Ameracaunas to my flock.

  Brewster is still as inquisitive and cuddly as ever although she gets broody a lot.  I will use her as an ‘incubator’ if I ever want to hatch eggs. Riot has become more timid, Sally and Martha are still the same well mannered girls.

I am interested in seeing if my egg production slows much next summer as they enter their 3rd year.

My one year olds are almost indistinguishable from each other.  You might remember they are both White Orpingtons.  Only a slight difference in their foot color helps me tell them apart.  Oh, and their personalities – Pearl is a mouthy bossy ‘roo-like’ girl.  She is the new top of the pecking order and she lets everyone know it with her constant ‘bawk,bawk,bawk-ing!   Snowball is more mannerly.

My new girls from this year are wonderful.  Lily, the Leghorn,  lays a white egg EVERY day (I swear one day I got two!)  She has the cutest flop-over comb.

blog lily

 She is petite and not too fluffy. I really worry about her when winter comes.  Not only will she probably lose that comb to frostbite,  she has taken to sleeping all alone on top of the inner door which I keep open on all but the coldest days..  I hope this winter she will snuggle in with the other gals for warmth. (Update:  Ivy has started sleeping up there with her)

sleeping hens

 Florence, the Rhode Island Red,  is also petite but a bit fluffier, such a quiet gal and she follows me everywhere, if I turn around she is there waiting for a cuddle.  What a sweetie!

blog flo.jpg

The biggest surprise of all is IVY.  She was supposed to be an Iowa Blue (hopefully you read my past blog about this breed of chicken) but she never looked like one, even as a chick.

ivy

She is HUGE (I nicknamed her Turkey Leg) and she lays the darkest brown eggs of all my gals. At least I think those dark eggs are hers.

eggs

 My friend Tric thinks she must be a Maran – lucky me!  I think she is Maran crossed with Jersey Giant!  (only half joking here).

Perhaps you can identify her for me.  Anyway I love her and her amazing eggs.

As soon as the air started getting nippy the gals went through a huge ugly molting process.  Bad timing, huh?  They were so funny looking.  (They made me promise not to post pics).

We did just a tad more work on the coop this year.  We got the galvanized roof panels on and upgraded  the nesting box door.  I put some sealer on the wood to protect it, it will age to a gray, rustic ‘barn board’ color.  We also put an arbor in front of the pen entrance.  It will look great covered in a vine next summer.  Any suggestions on a good one to grow?

We got a ton of green beans and tomatoes and a few peppers and carrots from the garden once we fenced out the bunnies.

blog.jpg

Here is Brewster checking out some of the harvest!

 

 

Scores, maybe even hundreds of bees and butterflies visited the butterfly garden which made me very happy!

Monarch on zinnia 8 14 15

blog1

We even got a tenant in one of the birdhouses!

I am already planning next spring and summer’s garden.  (Of course!)

No new chicks next year,

                                                             not a one,

     absolutely-positively no.

I will NOT enter a feed store next spring AT ALL!

Let me know how your year went.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Barbara Faust
    Dec 26, 2015 @ 16:47:16

    I’m in awe of how well you know your flock. Some folks have A LOT LESS than that and don’t seem to notice their quirks and PERKS!

    Thanks for the update on your girls.
    HAPPY NEW YEAR!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  2. Nancy
    Dec 25, 2015 @ 18:06:12

    Loved every word of it!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

I would love to hear from you! Please leave a comment.

Juniper Journeys

:it's time to put on your boots and move to higher ground.

slcriger

Smile! You’re at the best WordPress.com site ever

Make Me Some Soap...

A blog for folks who love using and making handmade soap

On The Upside

Saddle up! Let's take a ride...

Gumboots and Grammar

My passion is my strength

Restorable Living

The art of reclaiming daily life.

pipafineart.wordpress.com/

Helpful articles to improve your own nature and landscape photography explorations. You will also see stunning landscape and nature photographs created by award winning landscape and nature photographer Melissa Fague.

Sunny Sleevez

Sun Protection & Green Info

No Milk Today

Allergy or Food Intolerance: Delicious Dairy-Free Recipes, DIY & more :)

THE UNFETTERED FOX

Curious facts and cautionary tales ~ adventures in rural living

The house by the sea foodwaves

I´m here only for the food

SunshineHelpMeGrow

A stereotypical college student just trying to get by...

rachelmankowitz

The Cricket Pages

2 Boys 1 Homestead

Our adventure to self-sufficiency!

Back Porch Sheep

My sheep listen to my voice; I know them, and they follow me. John 10:27

Butterfly Garden

Attracting & sustaining butterflies and growing native flowers.

A Note From Abroad

“Twenty years from now you will be more disappointed by the things that you didn’t do than by the ones you did do. So throw off the bowlines. Sailaway from the safe harbor. Catch the trade winds in your sails. Explore. Dream. Discover.” ~ Mark Twain

GARDEN OF EADY

Bring new life to your garden!

Crazy Green Thumbs

Chronicling a delusional gardening experience.

