Spring Is Busy In The Garden!

There are always a million things to do and I have been too busy – aka having too much fun-  to write much.

Not sorry.

We got 6 fruit trees planted – 2 Paw Paws, 2 apricot and 2 pears. One of the Paw Paws and one apricot are still dormant but alive.( I did the ‘scratch’ test)  but the others are leafing out nicely.

DSCN2348

We splurged on a larger apricot tree from the garden center.

DSCN2356

The trees from Stark Bros were smaller and dormant when they arrived but they soon leafed out,

DSCN2418

This is one of the pears

DSCN2409

The Paw Paw!

DSCN2388

We planted a weeping cherry tree for decoration.

I splurged and got a Wisteria.  I have always wanted one and the type I got, Amethyst Falls, is an American variety, less invasive and it blooms when only 2 years old!

I am in love. 

DSCN2410

Blooming already!

The tomato,  pepper,, broccoli and cabbage seedlings are in.  Snap peas, beans, cucumber, zucchini, lettuce, radishes and carrots are up and the bunnies are even leaving me some!

DSCN2397

This was earlier this spring. There are now also pepper, cabbage and broccoli plants here.

The milkweed I moved last fall survived and is popping up with a vengeance.

DSCN2416

Milkweed and other perennials in the Butterfly garden.

I planted more native plants that I received from Prairie Nursery.  I was happy with their fast shipping, great packing and the quality of the plants.

DSCN2421

My baby Queen of the Prairie…..

q

One day it will look like this!

We put the littles out to the ‘transition’ coop a few weeks ago and today we opened up the gate between their and the older gals’ pens.

I am happy to say there was no bloodshed!

DSCN2435

Nothing beats getting acquainted over a yummy meal of weeds!

I hope you are having as much fun this spring!

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Barbara Faust
    May 17, 2015 @ 12:03:02

    I’ve been counting the days until your next spring update and it didn’t disappoint.

    Just one question; does the scratch test also work on OLD HUMANS to see if they are still alive or DEAD, and in need of PLANTING?

    Like

    Reply

  2. slcriger
    May 17, 2015 @ 12:01:06

    I’ve been having fun….cool blog….you certainly have done a lot…how have you found time for your husband???

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

I would love to hear from you! Please leave a comment.

Juniper Journeys

:it's time to put on your boots and move to higher ground.

slcriger

Smile! You’re at the best WordPress.com site ever

Make Me Some Soap...

A blog for folks who love using and making handmade soap

On The Upside

Saddle up! Let's take a ride...

Gumboots and Grammar

My passion is my strength

Restorable Living

The art of reclaiming daily life.

pipafineart.wordpress.com/

Helpful articles to improve your own nature and landscape photography explorations. You will also see stunning landscape and nature photographs created by award winning landscape and nature photographer Melissa Fague.

Sunny Sleevez

Sun Protection & Green Info

No Milk Today

Allergy or Food Intolerance: Delicious Dairy-Free Recipes, DIY & more :)

THE UNFETTERED FOX

Curious facts and cautionary tales ~ adventures in rural living

The house by the sea foodwaves

I´m here only for the food

SunshineHelpMeGrow

A stereotypical college student just trying to get by...

rachelmankowitz

The Cricket Pages

Goldenrod Homestead

Permaculture and Market Gardening

Back Porch Sheep

My sheep listen to my voice; I know them, and they follow me. John 10:27

Butterfly Garden

Attracting & sustaining butterflies and growing native flowers.

A Note From Abroad

“Twenty years from now you will be more disappointed by the things that you didn’t do than by the ones you did do. So throw off the bowlines. Sailaway from the safe harbor. Catch the trade winds in your sails. Explore. Dream. Discover.” ~ Mark Twain

GARDEN OF EADY

Bring new life to your garden!

Crazy Green Thumbs

Chronicling a delusional gardening experience.

