Before there were chickens……

I did other things.

  One of those things was make soaps and herbal/aromatherapy products.

I know the blog title is Ruth’s Chickens but chickens = urban farming,  urban farming is sorta like homesteading and homesteading means making your own things and being somewhat natural.

hsteading woman

At least to me it does.

So today I am going to blog about one of my other passions besides gardening and my chickens.

That passion is soapmaking.

smaking woman

It started back in the mid ’90’s when I discovered all natural soap from a small company started by a woman named Sandy Maine, called The Sunfeather Soap Company.

sandym

  I thought,  ‘I’d like to do this’ and I bought Sandy’s book and some other great books on soapmaking.

book

Soon making soap became an obsession!  I had a small shop that I named Addie’s Herb Garden and I sold my soap and other natural products and crafts.

10277270_301719026704575_7602031148828121675_n

The store did not remain open very long but I continued to sell soap by word of mouth, at work and at craft fairs.  Soon though, it seemed EVERYONE was making and selling handmade soap.  My interest dwindled and I only made a few batches a year for our own use and to give as gifts.

Recently there has been a rebirth of interest in essential oils.  I am thrilled that the younger gals at work are interested in natural products and aromatherapy and they are surprised that I have known about and used essential oils and herbs for almost 20 years.

Some of my coworkers who worked with me in the ’90’s have been asking when I will make soap again.

So I have recently started back with a BANG!

soap

Soapmaking is a centuries old craft but things have sure changed in recent times!  A younger, new breed of soapmaker has taken it over the top.  There are new books, You Tube videos and blogs on the subject.  Some of the old rules have gone out the window and things like infa-red instant-read thermometers, and stick blenders have turned a process that used to take hours into one that can be done in minutes.

I have returned to my old favorite recipes using only pure essential oils for fragrance and herbs and other botanicals for color but have also given artificial colors and fragrance oils a try.  I think my niche will always be all natural but I also will do an occasional ‘fun’ experiment as well, such as my bright green cucumber melon that I tried to make in a pvc pipe!

DSCN2286

I remelted it in my crockpot.

DSCN2283

Great idea to make soap discs in a pvc pipe mold.

DSCN2285

I couldn’t get it out no matter what I tried! I finally had to dig it out.

DSCN2287

I formed it into ‘melon’ balls!

 

Today I did a batch of what I think will be the best face soap ever made.

DSCN2288

It’s made with super rich oils and my ‘Renew’ face nourishing serum. I can’t wait for it to finish curing!

I am so thrilled to be back at it and hope to bring in extra income when I ever retire. It will be an exciting journey and I hope you will enjoy joining me!

 Yesterday I went to a craft fair for ‘research’.  (I know, it’s tough work!).

I think I will fit in just fine.

DSCN2279

This post is not an advertisement for my stuff but if you are interested in my natural products I have a Facebook page called Addie’s Herb Garden.  I don’t have a web page but perhaps I will figure out how to do that one of these years.

Next week back to chickens and I hope to have pics of our new chicks!

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Barbara Faust
    Mar 06, 2015 @ 13:36:37

    I’ve read all of your blogs, and have decided if I was ever ship wrecked on a deserted Island, you’d be the person I’d pick to be with me due to your many and VARIED talents, and you Energizer Bunny mentality.
    Your also an inspirational speaker who would get me up off the soggy beach and then use a stick to outline your survival plan in the sand. Hopefully you’d have a couple of your laying hens with you because my climbing trees to retrieve fruits skills are nil…

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  2. slcriger
    Mar 02, 2015 @ 00:37:09

    oh boy….soap!!!!!! your soap is by far the best I’ve ever used !!!!!!!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

I would love to hear from you! Please leave a comment.

Juniper Journeys

:it's time to put on your boots and move to higher ground.

slcriger

Smile! You’re at the best WordPress.com site ever

Make Me Some Soap...

A blog for folks who love using and making handmade soap

On The Upside

Saddle up! Let's take a ride...

Gumboots and Grammar

My passion is my strength

Restorable Living

The art of reclaiming daily life.

pipafineart.wordpress.com/

Helpful articles to improve your own nature and landscape photography explorations. You will also see stunning landscape and nature photographs created by award winning landscape and nature photographer Melissa Fague.

Sunny Sleevez

Sun Protection & Green Info

No Milk Today

Allergy or Food Intolerance: Delicious Dairy-Free Recipes, DIY & more :)

THE UNFETTERED FOX

Curious facts and cautionary tales ~ adventures in rural living

The house by the sea foodwaves

I´m here only for the food

SunshineHelpMeGrow

A stereotypical college student just trying to get by...

rachelmankowitz

The Cricket Pages

2 Boys 1 Homestead

Our adventure to self-sufficiency!

Back Porch Sheep

My sheep listen to my voice; I know them, and they follow me. John 10:27

Butterfly Garden

Attracting & sustaining butterflies and growing native flowers.

A Note From Abroad

“Twenty years from now you will be more disappointed by the things that you didn’t do than by the ones you did do. So throw off the bowlines. Sailaway from the safe harbor. Catch the trade winds in your sails. Explore. Dream. Discover.” ~ Mark Twain

GARDEN OF EADY

Bring new life to your garden!

Crazy Green Thumbs

Chronicling a delusional gardening experience.

