Summer Update and a Couple of Recipes:

We made it back from LOTO happy, well fed and tired.

Nope, the chickens did not miss me and I don’t think the dogs and kitties did either.  Roxanne did a great job.  I was not able to text her several times a day in my usual OC way because after we were already on our way to MO I realized that I DID NOT HAVE HER NUMBER IN MY PHONE!!!!

Seriously??!!

I have only called her on my land line and did not have her number stored in my cell phone.

Arrrrggggghhhh!

freak easy1

 I had left my number for her to use if there were any problems and I assured myself that everything would be ok.  That did not stop me from laying awake early the first morning thinking thoughts like:  “What if she thought we were leaving on Friday not Thursday?  What if she thought we were going NEXT week not this one?”

I soon pushed those thoughts out of my mind – nothing I could do about it anyway – and had fun!

My worries were for nothing – as worries usually are.  The place looked great when we returned,  and all the critters were very well cared for.

My dog Rusty fell in love with her.

rusty I sure hope Roxanne wants to sit for my critters again next year.

The garden continues to do wonderfully well.  We have had tons of delicious green beans and many cucumbers.  I ate my fill of lettuce and once it bolted I used it to feed the chickens.  My tiny gourmet carrots were cute but not worth doing again in my opinion.

016

They are a small, round variety. They got only slightly bigger than this.

We are eating cucumber salad almost every day – Ah summer!

I have quite a few zucchini from my 2 plants.  While we were away a couple of them got HUGE!   They will be fine for stuffing.

001

The tomatoes are ripening , we are really enjoying the Black Krim tomatoes grown from seeds I saved 2 years ago!  Delicious!  If you have not grown this variety of Heirloom tomato you are missing a treat!

krim

My very favorite tomato variety is called Hillbilly.  It is soooooooooooooooo good!

 hill

2014garden

A day’s harvest!

 Here are a couple of recipes that are summer life savers:

Marinated Cucumbers

cuke

1/2 cup of sugar

1/4 cup water

1/4 cup vinegar

(I like a combination of white and rice wine vinegar)

fresh dill

salt and pepper to taste

very thin cucumber slices (about 2 medium cucumbers)

thin sliced onion (about 1/4 onion or to taste)

 pinch of red pepper flakes (if you like things zippy)

Warm up the vinegar and water enough to easily dissolve the sugar.  Let cool a bit.  Throw in the  cucumber slices and as much onion as you like, a few snips of dill, salt, pepper and the pepper flakes if you want them. Let marinade for at least 2 hours.   Enjoy!

Zucchini Bread with Walnuts

002

3 cups flour – can use part whole wheat if you like

1 3/4 cups of sugar

1/2 tsp salt

1 tsp baking soda

1 tsp baking powder

3 eggs

2 cups grated zucchini

2 tsp vanilla extract

1/2 cup oil

1/2 cup melted butter

1 cup chopped walnuts ( optional)

Mix all dry ingredients in one bowl, all wet ingredients in another then combine. Pour into a greased Bundt pan and bake for 60 – 70 minutes at 350 degrees. (or in 2 loaf pans and bake for 1 hour).

 Cool, slice and YUM!

Let me know how your garden is doing and please share any recipes you have that will help use up a bumper crop of zucchini!

 

 

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Steven Criger
    Aug 24, 2014 @ 15:15:03

    yummmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

I would love to hear from you! Please leave a comment.

Juniper Journeys

:it's time to put on your boots and move to higher ground.

slcriger

Smile! You’re at the best WordPress.com site ever

Make Me Some Soap...

A blog for folks who love using and making handmade soap

On The Upside

Saddle up! Let's take a ride...

Gumboots and Grammar

My passion is my strength

Restorable Living

The art of reclaiming daily life.

pipafineart.wordpress.com/

Helpful articles to improve your own nature and landscape photography explorations. You will also see stunning landscape and nature photographs created by award winning landscape and nature photographer Melissa Fague.

Sunny Sleevez

Sun Protection & Green Info

No Milk Today

Allergy or Food Intolerance: Delicious Dairy-Free Recipes, DIY & more :)

THE UNFETTERED FOX

Curious facts and cautionary tales ~ adventures in rural living

The house by the sea foodwaves

I´m here only for the food

SunshineHelpMeGrow

A stereotypical college student just trying to get by...

rachelmankowitz

The Cricket Pages

2 Boys 1 Homestead

Our adventure to self-sufficiency!

Back Porch Sheep

My sheep listen to my voice; I know them, and they follow me. John 10:27

Butterfly Garden

Attracting & sustaining butterflies and growing native flowers.

A Note From Abroad

“Twenty years from now you will be more disappointed by the things that you didn’t do than by the ones you did do. So throw off the bowlines. Sailaway from the safe harbor. Catch the trade winds in your sails. Explore. Dream. Discover.” ~ Mark Twain

GARDEN OF EADY

Bring new life to your garden!

Crazy Green Thumbs

Chronicling a delusional gardening experience.

