Front Yard Gardens

One of the reason I hate lawns is the amount of time, effort, money and resources that go into their upkeep.  Still, that alone would not bother me.  I mean if that’s your thing, go ahead, have at it.

Unfortunately, the upkeep of a beautiful lawn doesn’t end there.  A huge amount of fertilizer and weed killer chemicals,  as well as petroleum powered tools go into the care and feeding of a lawn.  That effects the environment and therefore ME!

That I do not like at all!

I love the current urban homesteading movement of forgoing lawns in favor of productive, environmentally friendly gardens.

That’s fine for the BACKyard you say but not for the front!   What would the neighbors say?

What indeed?

Here are a few pics of lovely FRONTyard gardens.

I applaud these people for NOT CARING WHAT THE NEIGHBORS THINK.

  fy2 fy6 fy5

front1

front2

front3

front4

In 2010 I put a front yard veggie garden in my Illinois yard.  It was necessary because I wanted to grow vegetables but our back yard was shaded by huge old oak trees.  I worried about what the neighbors would think but I did it anyway.

fy9

The neighbors loved it.

Some warned me that my tomatoes would be stolen.

That did not happen.

What did happen was that a local day care would walk the kids by every day to view the garden.  The teacher would explain the different plants to the children and they excitedly watched the progress of the growing things.  An old woman from the apartment complex near by told me with tears in her eyes of the garden she had once had in Russia.  Neighbors slowed down and waved or stopped to talk, share garden knowledge with me and offer me plants from their yards.  If there was anyone who did not approve I never knew.

It was a great garden and an enriching experience.   I am so glad I did it.

Here is the trailer for a book with tons of good info on getting rid of your lawn:

Do you or would you have a ‘front yard’ garden?

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: What A Wonderful Organization! | ruthschickens
  2. Steven Criger
    Jul 14, 2014 @ 12:48:44

    i would!!!!!!

    Like

    Reply

  3. Barbara Faust
    Jul 14, 2014 @ 12:12:11

    The WORLD would be a much better place to live NOW if we ALL strived to “leave as small of a footprint” as possible as you suggest ruthschickens. Our forrest like development does not permit cutting down of trees other than to build one home per lot–about 1/4 acre thickly treed lots at that. Most invest tons of time and money into up keeping that coveted mostly grassy front yard with a flower garden or 2 tucked in and then whine when the deer herds dare graze on their lawn and eat their plants. Silly of them when they were pre-warned the 1,500 acre development is listed as a WILD-LIFE PRESERVE!

    Like

    Reply

I would love to hear from you! Please leave a comment.

Juniper Journeys

:it's time to put on your boots and move to higher ground.

slcriger

Smile! You’re at the best WordPress.com site ever

Make Me Some Soap...

A blog for folks who love using and making handmade soap

On The Upside

Saddle up! Let's take a ride...

Gumboots and Grammar

My passion is my strength

Restorable Living

The art of reclaiming daily life.

pipafineart.wordpress.com/

Helpful articles to improve your own nature and landscape photography explorations. You will also see stunning landscape and nature photographs created by award winning landscape and nature photographer Melissa Fague.

Sunny Sleevez

Sun Protection & Green Info

No Milk Today

Allergy or Food Intolerance: Delicious Dairy-Free Recipes, DIY & more :)

THE UNFETTERED FOX

Curious facts and cautionary tales ~ adventures in rural living

The house by the sea foodwaves

I´m here only for the food

SunshineHelpMeGrow

A stereotypical college student just trying to get by...

rachelmankowitz

The Cricket Pages

Goldenrod Homestead

Permaculture and Market Gardening

Back Porch Sheep

My sheep listen to my voice; I know them, and they follow me. John 10:27

Butterfly Garden

Attracting & sustaining butterflies and growing native flowers.

A Note From Abroad

“Twenty years from now you will be more disappointed by the things that you didn’t do than by the ones you did do. So throw off the bowlines. Sailaway from the safe harbor. Catch the trade winds in your sails. Explore. Dream. Discover.” ~ Mark Twain

GARDEN OF EADY

Bring new life to your garden!

Crazy Green Thumbs

Chronicling a delusional gardening experience.

