Urban Farm Update and Notes 2014

The lettuce is up and has been crazy!  I have all I want and then some.
It is delicious.

letuce

I just go out and snip, snip, snip and have fresh salad for lunch or dinner!

My radishes grew fantastically this year – I guess I will never know what the heck happened to them  last year but that is fine.  It is just one of those mysterious garden things I guess.

peas

My bush variety of Sugar Snap peas were tasty and prolific.   I wish I had planted another row or two.  I plan on replanting them in Sept. as a fall crop.  I have never done a fall planting before but want to give it a try this year.

My carrots are up with bushy green tops.  I planted a variety called Paris Market that has smaller round roots as opposed to the carrot shape we are all familiar with.    I pulled a couple today but they were only the size of marbles so I will give them more time.  I have never grown carrots before and they are another gardening mystery to me.

016

The 3 kinds of potatoes are growing like crazy.  Lazy – or as I like to call it – BUSY me did not ever get to piling up soil around the stems to encourage more roots and therefore more potatoes so we shall see how the harvest is.

If I were a pioneer wife and my family depended on me to feed them all year from the garden, they would STARVE!

My bush variety green beans are covered in flowers and I expect a great crop soon.

015

NOTE TO SELF and to other ‘mature’ gardeners:  Plant the climbing type vs the bush type of beans and peas and save your back a lot of soreness at harvest time!

back

I decided to let my chickens out one day to free range and they devored my cabbage plants.

The peppers are looking ok.  Not great but OK.  Well actually they are not looking so great and either is the eggplant.

All varieties of tomatoes are doing great.  I have green tomatoes on several plants already.

014

My husband says if all we get is tomatoes the garden is a SUCCESS!

I have some room in the garden where I never planted ANYTHING.  I don’t know if it was the weather or what but it took longer than ever to get out of my winter ‘funk’ this year.  I didn’t seem to have my usual enthusiasm.

I NEVER would have left unplanted space in my veggie plot!

I promise to do better next year – I PROMISE!

(Maybe I should start Zoloft next winter?????)

pills_happy

Or this:

antidepressant

Or better yet this:

bahamas-targeting

In the meantime the weeds are more than happy to fill in the unused space!

All the rain in Iowa has given me a bumper crop of  WEEDS!  The chickens love that I pull them and toss them in the pen.  It keeps them busy for hours scratching through them searching for their favorite bites and bugs!

chx

There ya go! I meant to leave those empty spaces for weeds to feed my chickens!  Of course, that has to be it!

 

Tell me about your garden.  Is it doing well this year?

  Does it get larger or smaller each year?

  Do you have any work-saving tips to share?

 

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Joe Criger
    Jul 06, 2014 @ 23:39:13

    Zoloft next winter, not nest winter. 🙂

    Like

    Reply

  2. Steven Criger
    Jul 06, 2014 @ 23:14:10

    great!!!!!!

    Like

    Reply

I would love to hear from you! Please leave a comment.

Juniper Journeys

:it's time to put on your boots and move to higher ground.

slcriger

Smile! You’re at the best WordPress.com site ever

Make Me Some Soap...

A blog for folks who love using and making handmade soap

On The Upside

Saddle up! Let's take a ride...

Gumboots and Grammar

My passion is my strength

Restorable Living

The art of reclaiming daily life.

pipafineart.wordpress.com/

Helpful articles to improve your own nature and landscape photography explorations. You will also see stunning landscape and nature photographs created by award winning landscape and nature photographer Melissa Fague.

Sunny Sleevez

Sun Protection & Green Info

No Milk Today

Allergy or Food Intolerance: Delicious Dairy-Free Recipes, DIY & more :)

THE UNFETTERED FOX

Curious facts and cautionary tales ~ adventures in rural living

The house by the sea foodwaves

I´m here only for the food

SunshineHelpMeGrow

A stereotypical college student just trying to get by...

rachelmankowitz

The Cricket Pages

Goldenrod Homestead

Permaculture and Market Gardening

Back Porch Sheep

My sheep listen to my voice; I know them, and they follow me. John 10:27

Butterfly Garden

Attracting & sustaining butterflies and growing native flowers.

A Note From Abroad

“Twenty years from now you will be more disappointed by the things that you didn’t do than by the ones you did do. So throw off the bowlines. Sailaway from the safe harbor. Catch the trade winds in your sails. Explore. Dream. Discover.” ~ Mark Twain

GARDEN OF EADY

Bring new life to your garden!

Crazy Green Thumbs

Chronicling a delusional gardening experience.

