My Urban Farm 2014 – aka This Year’s Garden!

 

 I am very excited about this year’s garden.

Last fall, after everything had been harvested, I let my chickens scratch around in the garden.  I dumped coop bedding in it up through January when I stopped so it would not be too ‘raw’ when I was ready to plant. I added my homemade compost   (I will explain how I make it in a future post).  I again raked all my fall leaves onto the garden.  Early this spring, as soon as I could work the soil I lightly turned everything with my shovel.  As the leaves, compost, coop bedding and straw mulch  begin to break down I will get terrific soil.

 It will just keep getting better and better each year!

1gif

Diary of this years planting:

4/15:    38 degrees out and had snow yesterday but I put on my warm sweatshirt and planted lettuce, onions, carrots, radishes and sugar snap peas.  I also planted an organic blue potato that I cut into six chunks, each with an eye which hopefully will sprout.  Blue potatoes are loaded with antioxidants and taste the same as other potatoes but look AWESOME!

bp

 

4/21:  I planted some Yukon Gold and some red potatoes to keep my blue ones company!  My tomato seedlings started to sprout and as they did they got moved off the heating pad to under the grow light.

1seedlngs

4/25: Sunny and in the 70’s today.  Beginning to see onion sprouts!

4/28, 29, 30, 5/1:  Rain, rain, rain!  but I am seeing lettuce, bean, onion, and radish sprouts!

5/3 and 5/4:  SPRING WEATHER!  It was beautiful out AND also was my weekend off with no other plans.  Whoo-hoo!  Planted more lettuce and radishes.  It felt great to be outside.

5/19:  I planted more radishes, some Buttercrunch lettuce, more  leaf lettuce and a row of bush beans.  I am ‘hardening off’ my tomato, pepper, cabbage and flower seedlings on the deck in preparation of planting them next weekend.

This is more fun than I have had all year! 

5/ 24 &25:  I planted all the vegetable seedlings that I started from seed a few months ago.  I have 8 paste tomatoes which I talked about in the post ‘My Gardening Roots???’,  3 Heirloom tomatoes:  2 Black Krim, and Hillbilly from seeds I saved last year.  I also had 4 bell pepper plants, and 6 cabbages.  As soon as they were in the ground I ran to the store for more.

  I have a rule that I wont buy more plants until what I already have is in the ground!

I bought 3 more tomato plants, a Cherokee Purple, a Beefsteak and a Celebrity.  The Celebrity was supposed to be a Super Sweet Cherry tomato but it was in the wrong tray and my DH just grabbed without reading the tag.  I also picked up 2 Cajun Belle Mini peppers – so good stuffed with cheese – I may go back for two more, 2 zucchini plants, a sweet basil and a cilantro.

 5/30 & 31 – Present: I did get 2 more Cajun Belle peppers, I can almost taste them stuffed with cream cheese, dipped in cornbread batter and baked!

minipeps

I picked up an eggplant plant and 4 cucumber plants.  One cucumber was supposed to be a mini cantaloupe but I did what I laughed at my DH for – grabbed it out of a tray without checking the tag.  Oops!  I guess I wont be trying melon this year!

I am getting radishes!  They worked out this year!

salad

I have been enjoying them in salads with my leaf lettuce and green onions.  I am so glad I braved the cold weather and planted them.

letuce

 Please comment and let me know what is going on in your garden.  I really would love to hear from you!

Video

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. ruthschickensruthschickens
    Jun 09, 2014 @ 17:27:34

    Barbara, thanks stopping by and for leaving a comment! There is no such info on the seed packets but there are some articles I have seen on how much to grow to provide a years worth of food for a family. My garden is 14′ x 20′ and it only supplements our grocery bill. I would recommend starting with a small 4 foot square raised bed with whatever veggies are your favorites. Green beans, lettuce and cherry tomatoes do well. Mulch with straw or landscape fabric to keep weeds down. I spend about a (leisurely paced) hour about every other day or so
    on veg. and flower gardens combined.

    Like

    Reply

  2. Barbara Faust
    Jun 09, 2014 @ 11:52:26

    My psychic dog is in fear you are enticing me with your clever words that paint images of your bountiful, variety of FRESH, nutrient packed, HOME grown crops that will be available by merely walking out to your back yard. He wonders just how many hours a week a staff of ONE needs to devote to the venture? What would you recommend for a FIRST time SENIOR to try , and do the seed packets say how many adults it should serve?

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

I would love to hear from you! Please leave a comment.

Juniper Journeys

:it's time to put on your boots and move to higher ground.

slcriger

Smile! You’re at the best WordPress.com site ever

Make Me Some Soap...

A blog for folks who love using and making handmade soap

On The Upside

Saddle up! Let's take a ride...

Gumboots and Grammar

My passion is my strength

Restorable Living

The art of reclaiming daily life.

pipafineart.wordpress.com/

Helpful articles to improve your own nature and landscape photography explorations. You will also see stunning landscape and nature photographs created by award winning landscape and nature photographer Melissa Fague.

Sunny Sleevez

Sun Protection & Green Info

No Milk Today

Allergy or Food Intolerance: Delicious Dairy-Free Recipes, DIY & more :)

THE UNFETTERED FOX

Curious facts and cautionary tales ~ adventures in rural living

The house by the sea foodwaves

I´m here only for the food

SunshineHelpMeGrow

A stereotypical college student just trying to get by...

rachelmankowitz

The Cricket Pages

Goldenrod Homestead

Permaculture and Market Gardening

Back Porch Sheep

My sheep listen to my voice; I know them, and they follow me. John 10:27

Butterfly Garden

Attracting & sustaining butterflies and growing native flowers.

A Note From Abroad

“Twenty years from now you will be more disappointed by the things that you didn’t do than by the ones you did do. So throw off the bowlines. Sailaway from the safe harbor. Catch the trade winds in your sails. Explore. Dream. Discover.” ~ Mark Twain

GARDEN OF EADY

Bring new life to your garden!

Crazy Green Thumbs

Chronicling a delusional gardening experience.

