My Daughter is Starting a Garden!

 I am delirious with joy!

 Finally, one of my children is interested in gardening.

My daughter Wendy.wendy

I wish I could say that she toddled around following me, watching and learning as I worked in my garden.

But I can’t.

Well, first of all, a few tomato and pepper plants in our teeny tiny Chicago flower beds was not exactly large scale gardening. It was more like stick ’em in the ground, water once in awhile, and harvest at the end of summer.  I didn’t know about heirlooms, organic gardening, composting or other such things.

That would come later.

Also she was more of a watch TV with gramma, play with Barbies, let’s go shopping type of gal, even from an early age.

wendy

She lives in a fancy burb of Chicago where manicured landscaping is more the norm,

burb house  but she also is concerned about the safety of the food she eats and feeds her family.

  She has always welcomed gifts of veggies, and now more recently, eggs from my garden, and shops when she can, for organic and local produce.

Time to take the next step because she has the ideal little garden helper to motivate her.

pat

wendyseeds

This spring they have taken the plunge and started seeds for a small backyard garden.  wengarden1

wengarden

So far they have their sights set on tomatoes. peppers, carrots, and lettuce as well as a couple of blueberry bushes in containers and if the budget allows, a fruit tree.

And so it begins!

First it will be a small garden, then a larger and larger still.  Next comes composting, learning to can, moving from the back yard to just a teeny little bit in the front…… perhaps even petitioning the city to allow backyard chickens.  Yep, I see another urban farmer in the making!

chickgif

I couldn’t be happier!

Happy Mothers’ Day to all you Mommies!  Do any of your children follow in your gardening footsteps?

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Steven Criger
    May 11, 2014 @ 10:40:55

    what a cute girl…great blog as usual!!!!! good luck with your vegies wendy

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

I would love to hear from you! Please leave a comment.

Juniper Journeys

:it's time to put on your boots and move to higher ground.

slcriger

Smile! You’re at the best WordPress.com site ever

Make Me Some Soap...

A blog for folks who love using and making handmade soap

On The Upside

Saddle up! Let's take a ride...

Gumboots and Grammar

My passion is my strength

Restorable Living

The art of reclaiming daily life.

pipafineart.wordpress.com/

Helpful articles to improve your own nature and landscape photography explorations. You will also see stunning landscape and nature photographs created by award winning landscape and nature photographer Melissa Fague.

Sunny Sleevez

Sun Protection & Green Info

No Milk Today

Allergy or Food Intolerance: Delicious Dairy-Free Recipes, DIY & more :)

THE UNFETTERED FOX

Curious facts and cautionary tales ~ adventures in rural living

The house by the sea foodwaves

I´m here only for the food

SunshineHelpMeGrow

A stereotypical college student just trying to get by...

rachelmankowitz

The Cricket Pages

Goldenrod Homestead

Permaculture and Market Gardening

Back Porch Sheep

My sheep listen to my voice; I know them, and they follow me. John 10:27

Butterfly Garden

Attracting & sustaining butterflies and growing native flowers.

A Note From Abroad

“Twenty years from now you will be more disappointed by the things that you didn’t do than by the ones you did do. So throw off the bowlines. Sailaway from the safe harbor. Catch the trade winds in your sails. Explore. Dream. Discover.” ~ Mark Twain

GARDEN OF EADY

Bring new life to your garden!

Crazy Green Thumbs

Chronicling a delusional gardening experience.

