I’ve always been an urban farmer!

 

I was interested in growing things as long as I can remember.  I grew up in Chicago and our yard was small, small, small.  chicago-skyline-v-23504972

In fact when my husband (who grew up in Iowa) first saw my yard he wondered why we even bothered spending time in it!

But that didn’t stop me, and one time when I was a teenager I decided it would be fun to plant watermelons.  My mom said it was ok and I recruited my then boyfriend into helping out.  We tilled up a strip of the yard on the east side of the lawn, right against the cement walkway.  It would be neat and tidy and we would have lots of tasty, juicy watermelons in late summer – rightwatermelon-19677142???

Mmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm!

We babied our little seedlings, hoeing away weeds in the humid Chicago summer sun, with bandannas tied around our heads, like the hippies we were.

Oh how those watermelon plants grew! They grew and grew and grew and grew.  They grew to the west and took over the entire lawn.  They GRABBED onto everything in their path!  They even grew into the crabby neighbor lady’s yard.  That caused quite a stir but since she was always complaining about something we paid her no mind.???????????????????????????????????????

                                                     Finally we got a melon.

Yes, you read that right – a single solitary melon!  I don’t even remember if it was outstandingly good or not.  (The fact that I don’t remember is a clue to its lack of awesomeness).  It was an unforgettably fun experience though.  The old boyfriend recently passed away.  I hope the memory of our watermelon garden brought a smile to his face from time to time as it still does mine.

I still have never had much luck with watermelons or melons of any kind.

Fast forward many years later, in Iowa, husband and I planted some cantaloupe seeds.  We got one perfect melon.  It was not ripe yet but we were waiting patiently.  It was a bit larger than a softball.  Our sweet little granddaughter was following us around the yard one afternoon. She liked to help pick the cherry tomatoes.  We turned our backs for a second and next thing she was happily toddling up to us, arms outstretched with her ‘gift’ proudly offered. Our perfect – but not yet ripe – melon!

We had a good laugh about that and still do.

Even when your gardening efforts do not work out to feed your body, they still manage to feed your soul

???????????????????????????????????????

I think I may try planting melons again this year.  What do you think?

Image

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Michelle
    Mar 21, 2014 @ 14:59:14

    okay you are now up to 4 followers.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  2. slcriger
    Mar 20, 2014 @ 13:43:11

    great blog….love it

    Like

    Reply

  3. pobept
    Mar 19, 2014 @ 13:38:00

    mellons are great, but, they do require a lot of vine space to produce a good crop at harvest time.

    Like

    Reply

  4. Nancy
    Mar 18, 2014 @ 23:19:30

    Great Blog. Very attractive layout. Where dp you do it?

    Like

    Reply

I would love to hear from you! Please leave a comment.

Juniper Journeys

:it's time to put on your boots and move to higher ground.

slcriger

Smile! You’re at the best WordPress.com site ever

Make Me Some Soap...

A blog for folks who love using and making handmade soap

On The Upside

Saddle up! Let's take a ride...

Gumboots and Grammar

My passion is my strength

Restorable Living

The art of reclaiming daily life.

pipafineart.wordpress.com/

Helpful articles to improve your own nature and landscape photography explorations. You will also see stunning landscape and nature photographs created by award winning landscape and nature photographer Melissa Fague.

Sunny Sleevez

Sun Protection & Green Info

No Milk Today

Allergy or Food Intolerance: Delicious Dairy-Free Recipes, DIY & more :)

THE UNFETTERED FOX

Curious facts and cautionary tales ~ adventures in rural living

The house by the sea foodwaves

I´m here only for the food

SunshineHelpMeGrow

A stereotypical college student just trying to get by...

rachelmankowitz

The Cricket Pages

Goldenrod Homestead

Permaculture and Market Gardening

Back Porch Sheep

My sheep listen to my voice; I know them, and they follow me. John 10:27

Butterfly Garden

Attracting & sustaining butterflies and growing native flowers.

A Note From Abroad

“Twenty years from now you will be more disappointed by the things that you didn’t do than by the ones you did do. So throw off the bowlines. Sailaway from the safe harbor. Catch the trade winds in your sails. Explore. Dream. Discover.” ~ Mark Twain

GARDEN OF EADY

Bring new life to your garden!

Crazy Green Thumbs

Chronicling a delusional gardening experience.

